Professor Jämsä-Jounela joins Academy of Finland Research Council


Professor Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela from the School of Chemical Technology has been appointed a Member of the Academy of Finland Research Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering. The appointment is for the Academy’s coming three year term from 2013 to 2015.

The Academy of Finland’s Research Councils carry out the Academy’s tasks within their respective field of expertise. Their key task is to decide on research funding. A Research Council must actively and conscientiously support Finnish high-quality research, as well as develop the education of researchers and international activities.

The Government decides on each Research Council's members. Professor Paula Eerola from the University of Helsinki was appointed Chair of the Research Council. Professor Arto Mustajoki from the University of Helsinki will continue as Chair of the Board at the Academy of Finland.

The Government made its decision concerning the Academy of Finland Board and its Research Councils on Thursday 8 November 2012. Before appointing members to the Research Councils and the Academy’s Board, the Government consulted universities, government research institutes, public authorities and corporate bodies representing research and development, major scientific societies and science academies.

Please see the Academy of Finland website for further information on the Academy of Finland’s Board and Research Councils.


             This info last modified 2012-12-21 by Jukka Kortela